Friday, February 27, 2009

Let's Talk Common Sense

So I had a Job interview this morning that I have been mentally preparing for and I set my alarm to make sure I had plenty of time to get ready. Just as I am about to leave my house I feel that maybe i should check my email, you know? for Facebook updates..... Anyway I get this email : Greetings,

Unfortunately the interviews for ***************** School Division that were supposed to take place here at The Student Employment & Career Center today are cancelled.

I was just informed that the interviews will be rescheduled and you will all be contacted at a later date, my apologies for the inconvenience.

Have a great weekend!

Kindest Regards,

Ok, first off this letter was from the UNIVERSITY, and not the school division who had scheduled the meeting almost a month ago.

Please tell me I am not the only one who finds this extremely irritating, also I am at very least miffed, that the school district could not have called or personally emailed. I know they have our numbers because they did call my cell to schedual said interview.

Talk about a bad first impression. Dont think im just some heartless bastard because if there was an emergency or something happened I will be the first to understand but due to the fact that there was no formal cancellation on the part of the school district and or a call or anything? I feel i have to Rant.

Congrats to the university tho for making me feel as tho they cared, I was pleasently surprised that I had not wasted my time shaving and money parking and that there must be an awesome employee in the student Career Center that cares.

So to end my Rant, I would like to say BOO to people who cancell without an explaination, phone call, email, message via carrier pigeon, ect. And Thank you to a wonderful person in the Student Career Center



........ think outside the box, dont just paint the box and tell me it cost 1.5 billion and your raising our school fees.

LIVE LIFE, LOVE, LAUGH, AND DESIGN UNLIKELY FUTURES

cheers
MARC

Monday, February 23, 2009

Why I hate Traveling through the states, Or being around Americans

Ok so i decided to run off to Mexico for a few days with a friend to go visit a buddy in a time share. I returned with a new found disgust for the Gluttony of America.

First off I was "randomly selected" for a full search and had to argue that my belt was not a weapon. My belt is a snowboard belt that has two screwdrivers, and a bottle opener. Aparently they thought this was a great security risk not as a stabbing tool but they were concearned that i would take apart the plane from the inside out. I had to talk to 4 security officials and explain myself. Frick off border guards go show off your God complex over some kids that are scared of you rent-a-cops

In Cancun, my two friends and I decieded to take a cheap scenic tour by taking the bus till it stops or returns back to the resort. The first thing i learnt is any place that us tourists see is FAKE, mainly to please americans. we ended up in the heart of Actual Cancun and realized that is could easily be described as a slum. We were the only three on the bus and got alittle concearned when the bus stopped and we were told to leave. I saw a few more buses parked and a hut with mexicans who looked like bus drivers, I asked if they went downtown. This questions seemed to be fairly straightforward until the man answered he asked me which downtown? this kinda blew my mind and opened my eyes at the same time, my only regret is that i do not know enough spanish to talk to him more about this. I made out from his conversations that there is the "hotels downtown" and the "real downtown". As much as i love to sleep in a clean bed and have some poor mexican make me all the drinks i can handle, i would love to think that we choose these ammenities with the knowledge of how the "real Mexico" exists. On this several hour bus ride i was in the back of the bus as we picked up a full load of mexican workers. I had a Large man next to me and i really wanted to talk to him about what his life was like and if he hates Glutonous americans as i do and if he appreciated the fact that not all people were obsorbed so much as not to get off the beaten path?


The next story or Rant i have is of americans in Airports

I had to wait in line for a very long time for tickets and i was behind a very large American who obviously did not need to be in any sort of healthy shape to conduct his job and he was wanting a free upgrade to first class because he claimed the plane seats were too small. FUCK OFF the plane is just fine its your fat ass thats too big, lay off the chips and crappy beer and dont rely on Mcdonalds to feed you and your kids. As we landed in Minneapolis I watched that same man yell at an aiport employee because he was supposed to be met at the plane with a freaking wheelchair because the airport was too big for him to walk around without having a heart attack. The man honestly had to walk maybe 30 meters, he was pissed, and i never felt like punching anyone in the face as much as i did at that point of time. The only thing that stopped me was the fact that i knew everyone in the airport had a personalize attack taser and would have loved the opportunity to kill another inocent Canadian.

Ok last rant about lazy people

My Friend and i had a few hour layover in Minneapolis and we wanted to get a bit and wait for the plane. Being that i had been to this airport about a dozen or so times I knew that very close to our gate was an observation deck that was only accessible by three stories of stairs. I bet my friend 10$ that there would not be anyone at the top because America would refuse to walk up stairs to see an amazing sight when there is not an elevator to get their fat asses up thirty stairs.

I also bet that there would be no one that came up in the two hours that we would be up there.

I won Both bets, because America is in love with convenience, not to say Canada is not but i have never seen such gross examples as i had in my travels with Americans.

Thursday, February 12, 2009

Why does the Media feel the need to Show off what we already Had?

If your like me and watch the news rather than the new Beverly hills 90210 you may have seen the recent announcements of all this money coming to schools in the province.

Yeah media? thats not news. Its old news.

The media likes to play it up as though we just got all this money to build new schools and fix up crappy ones and that we should all be thankful to our government.

Well I hate to break it to you but that money was given out along time ago. I had been talking to some teachers because I had thought that maybe this could effect me in the city here but alas, I have been hoodwinked. Led to beleive the government actually did something i could give them credit for.

Heres to dressing up an old story to make yourself look better.

and you wonder why the number one cause for poor voter turnout is Political Cynicism?

Monday, February 9, 2009

Why do teachers SELL OUT ?

After reading an article in this weeks Sheaf, Radical Profs Refuse To Give Grades, i find myself wondering why more teacher dont fallow so called "Radical Beliefs"
The article is about two Profs, David Noble from York and Denis Rancourt from Uof Ottawa, who are seen by their institutions as shit disturbers. They refuse to give marks in their classes, Noble stated "the reason is simple: all my students are adults". Rancourt had applied to have his course changed to a pass/fail system and was not granted permission. Rancourt then gave all his students an A+ and the Administration is claiming that these marks are given "abitrarely". they are also calling it Academic Fraud. What I find fascinating is that Rancourt has been Suspended and Banned from the Campus after the University did not like his teaching practises.
It is to my knowlege that our legal system and educational system is a system based on precident. If so all we would need is one "Radical Teacher" to stir this pot and shake stuff up a bit. Why are we not looking at these radical ideas and looking into the possibility of new and techniques?
I would say instead of labeling these two Profs as "Shit disturbing Radical Anarchists" we should take a lesson and stop conforming to the will of "The Man" or the Administration.

The System is Broken, Lets fix it.


Fight conformaty, break the mold, think outiside the freakin box already, shit!

P.S. if i go missing its because someone read this article, and they have connections to "The Man"

Wednesday, February 4, 2009

Blooms Blogs

Blooms Taxonomy:

Knowledge,
3 way in which blogs can be used in education For posting homework, for keeping parent informed, a way for the students to contact teachers outside of school.

Comprehension,
3 reason why teacher should integrate blogs into their classes. provide students with the tools of today. Relevance, Another tool for the students to become in gauged,

Application,
3 ways in which you could use blogs for your own professional development. E-portfolios ie attach the blog to show your technical literacy you can subscribe to others blogs that relate to your field. Personal reflection, also to communicate to others or ask for advice

Analysis,
is the use of blogs in education better than the use of static websites, I think that the integration of a blog into a teachers website is the best way use both teaching tools.

Synthesis,
how might bloggin change your role as an educator. You could be more invloved as a facilitator rather than an director. There is a greater need for the Teacher to keep active in the advances in technology and this field

Evaluation,
list the potential disadvantages to using blogs, It requires alot of time on behalf of the teacher, most of which could be out of school time. It is technology and it is not alway reliable, ie power outtages system crashes. How far do we want to go in eliminating the social interaction, There is the potential for extremes. This is a tool not a replacement



Marc, Raquel, Mitch, Jr, Mike